Our New Playlist 22.0 Has Arrived

Our latest Playlist is now on your airwaves here at Indigo FM and true to tradition it’s different. Very different to any other radio playlist you’re likely to hear – but that’s how we’ve been rolling here at Indigo FM for a while now.

This is our 22nd Playlist we have curated and delivered in the past 10 years. It boasts a whopping 900 songs – 73% (655 songs) by Australian artists and 17% (152 songs) by First Nations artists.

You can view Playlist 22.0 here.

To view the Indigenous Playlist click here.

As we cap the maximum number of songs per artist at 2, this allows for 650-700 different artists. The Indigenous content equates to 152 songs by over 100 different First Nations artists.

Indigo FM President Scott Landells outlined that setting such ambitious targets, directs the volunteer-run radio station’s energy to an ongoing exhaustive exploration of what music is available.

“We’re incredibly grateful to the many record labels that send through their new releases on a regular basis, and to our volunteers who sort through them and put them forward for each playlist. One of those volunteers is Doug Wallen who has undertaken this super important and time-consuming voluntary”behind the scenes” task since 2017. Doug is an absolute gem and we are extremely grateful for the work he has done here over the past 7 years.”

Indigo FM Playlists are renowned for celebrating the unique and quirky. For example it’s quite usual to find long tracks clocking in at 7 minutes plus on Indigo FM.

This Playlist has 27 songs 7 minutes or longer headed by Nina Simone’s “Sinnerman” (10:21), The Allmann Brothers Band’s “Who’s Been Talking” (10:09) and Akiko Tsuruga’s jazz track “Frame for the Blues” (10:02). As for current artists, Melbourne jam rockers Sand Pebbles check in with their track “Field Of The Lord” (7:24) from their latest album “The Protagonist”, Even’s Ash Naylor has the psych guitar instrumental “Hazel” (8:03) from his latest solo album and The National have their experimental stream of consciousness track “Smoke Detector” (7:47) from last year’s “Laugh Track” album.

At the opposite end of the scale we have a couple of Punk tracks – “Victim” (0:42) by WA 70s legends The Victims (two of whom – Dave Faulkner and James Baker – would go on to form the Hoodoo Gurus) and “Powerball” (1:04) by Snõõper who hail from Nashville.

A few special compilation albums provide some of our Playlist content. These include four First Nations albums

  • Wantok Musik Vol. 3;
  • WA Music’s – Demos from the Ngaanyatjarra Lands;
  • NIMA Presents: The Sound of Indigenous Australia – Now & Before; and
  • UPK 6

Additionally the following compilations also have several tracks on our latest playlist:

  • The Bridge – Class of 2020 (Sydney Community Radio station FBi Radio compilation);
  • Blossom Buddies II (a 2024 compilation from local indie label Blossom Rot Records);
  • Searchlight Moonbeam (a 2023 narrative compilation from Time Is Away duo – Jack Rollo and Elaine Tierney – who host a monthly show on UK internet radio platform NTS); and
  • Touch – The Sublime Sound of Yuji Ohno (The space funk, jazz and disco sound of genius Japanese producer Yuji Ohno).

As well as embracing diversity, several local artists have songs on this playlist including Benny Walker, The Northern Folk, Buddy Dingo, Davesway, Empress + Aces, Lucey, RIFF, Matt Sier, Ben Chan, John Memery, This Way North, Angie Brauman and Brent Shirley.

A host of artists to have toured NE Vic in 2023-24 are also included featuring RVG, Anna Smyrk, The Woodland Hunters, Ausecuma Beats, Little Quirks, Sadie Mustoe, Riley Catherall, Valley Road, Ernest Aines, Jazy Jade, The Royal Belgian Conspiracy, Oceanique, Ruby Gill, The Weeping Willows, Eastbound Buzz, Gangar, Frank Yamma, Minor Gold, Matt Katsis, Andrea Kirwin, Charm of Finches, Scott Cook, Georgia Knight, Straight Arrows, Folk Bitch Trio, Ricki Wood, Phil Jamieson, Matt Joe Gow & Kerryn Fields, Anna Scionti, Hussy Hicks, Caitlin Harnett & The Pony Boys, Corn Nut Creek, Cool Sounds, Daniel Champagne, Girl Friday and the Sepia Tones, Guanaco Trío, Hannah Schmidli, The Humbuckin’ Pickups, Quivers, Jarrod Shaw, JC & The Tree, Windborne, Jenny Don’t And The Spurs, Leah Senior, Lorraine Nash and Surprise Chef.

You can tune in to our latest Playlist each weekday whenever we’re in between live shows as well as overnight 7 days a week. Tune your FM dial to 88.0 in Kiewa-Tangam, Beechworth or Yackandandah or live stream it here.

Leave a Reply